The Board

Processes and Protocols


  • Emeritus Professor Patrick Garnett (Chair)

    A former deputy vice-chancellor of Edith Cowan University (ECU), Professor Garnett has extensive teaching experience in chemistry and science with involvement in the application of new technologies, including online learning.

    Professor Garnett holds a PhD in Chemistry and a Bachelor of Education from The University of Western Australia, a Master of Arts in Science Education from the University of Maryland (USA) and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Education by ECU upon his retirement in 2007.

    He has extensive experience in educational leadership and management. In his role of deputy vice-chancellor at ECU, he had responsibility for the university’s academic profile, research and research training, quality assurance, human resources, risk management and audit assurance. Prior appointments at ECU included six years as executive dean and five years as head of school.

    During his career, Professor Garnett was also involved with the board of Secondary Education and the Secondary Education Authority as a long-standing member of the Chemistry Joint Syllabus Committee. He also chaired two Chemistry Syllabus Review Committees and was examiner and chair of the TAE Chemistry Examining Panel.

  • Professor David Andrich

    Professor Andrich has been Chapple Professor of Education at The University of Western Australia since 2007. He has conducted research at national and State levels on certification and selection into tertiary education.

    Professor Andrich has expertise in measurement and standards that will be a valuable asset for the Board and began his outstanding career in education as a teacher at Western Australian public schools.

  • Associate Professor Lennie Barblett

    Associate Professor Barblett is the Associate Dean Early Childhood in the School of Education, Edith Cowan University. Her research encompasses a wide range of topics in early childhood education including educational leadership, innovation and workforce best practice; quality teaching and learning in early childhood; and community partnerships.

  • Ms Pauline Coghlan

    Working as an independent education consultant and reviewer for the last six years, Ms Coghlan has co-authored and co-presented a number of programs aimed at improving education in Western Australia. She is an accredited Change 2 facilitator and has previously worked with government schools to enable significant and sustained change. Ms Coghlan has extensive experience reviewing both government and non-government schools, and she has been the Chair of the OLNA Appeals Committee at the School Curriculum and Standards Authority since 2016. Prior to this, Ms Coghlan worked as a secondary school principal for 20 years.

  • Dr Lynette Henderson-Yates

    Dr Henderson-Yates is an Aboriginal woman from Derby and has more than 40 years’ experience in Aboriginal education.
    Dr Henderson-Yates is a former school principal and has taught at primary, secondary and tertiary levels. She was the first Aboriginal person to be appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor of an Australian university.

  • Ms Denise O'Meara

    Ms O’Meara has extensive experience in a range of teaching and educational roles including Principal of Bunbury Catholic College, Principal of Mercedes College and member of the Executive of the Bunbury Regional Trade Training Centre. Ms O’Meara has also had significant involvement and oversight in the capital development planning for a multi-campus school and education support units for students with disabilities.

  • Mrs Pauline White

    Mrs White is Principal of Wanneroo Secondary College and held the position of Associate Principal at Warnbro Community High School and Hamilton Senior High School. She has extensive experience as teacher and school leader. She was a member of the School Curriculum and Standards Authority – Standards Committee from July 2018 to September 2020 and a member of the School Curriculum and Standards Authority – Audit and Risk Management Committee from 2014 to 2018.

Board Resolutions